index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Jester (2003-10-17 - 5:03 p.m.)

This is a review of a recent book by James Patterson (in conjunction with Andrew Gross) called Jester.

I've been a fan of Patterson ever since I read Kiss the Girls, a few years ago. Since then, I try to read anything by him that I can get my hands on (except his recent venture into romance novels). Anyway, Jester was released earlier this year.

This story begins with the discovery of a "holy relic" in a burial site, buried in a sarcophagus. The nature of the relic is not revealed at the outset. We are forced to read almost the entire book before we discover what it is that is setting an entire kingdom on its proverbial ear.

Hugh De Luc is a poor innkeeper in a small French village. He decides to leave his young wife and go fight in the Crusades (yes, this is a medieval novel). During the course of his fighting, he receives something that is apparently of great value. Only he has no clue that he has gotten it.

He spends the rest of the book fighting for his very life agains evil lords who want what he has. Problem is, he doesn't know what he has.

I believe that Patterson and Gross have written a great book. It kept me engrossed (no pun intended) for the entire novel. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and actually think that it would make a great film. Perhaps someone else will think that.

If you are fond of medieval stories, I think you would be delighted with this book.

Currently, I'm reading The Great Train Robbery by Michael Crichton.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010