index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

How Then Should We Judge? (2005-07-27 - 9:36 a.m.)

I'm really enjoying this week of vacation. We've slept in every morning (a little later each day), then had time for several leisurely cups of coffee while poring over emails and finally reading my morning Bible readings. By the way, I get my daily Bible readings here. It's the official website of what is, in my opinion (however humble or "unhumble" it may be) the best modern translation of the Bible available, the English Standard Version. John Piper uses it. What more do I need to say?

Anyway, it's really been nice this week. I'm looking forward to our little jaunt up to Oklahoma tomorrow. Today it's raining. Tomorrow, it's supposed to be sunny with a high of 89. 89!!! HAHAHAAAA!!!! That's like a cold front for Texas in July.

Back to the Bible readings. Today, the old testament passage was 2 Chronicles 19-20. What stuck out to me was this verse, 19:6. Jehoshaphat is king of Judah. He is speaking to the judges that he has just appointed in the fortified cities. "Consider what you do, for you judge not for man but for the LORD. He is with you in giving judgment. Now then, let the fear of the LORD be upon you. Be careful what you do, for there is no injustice with the LORD our God, or partiality or taking bribes."

First, notice that phrase I talked about yesterday pops up again. "...the fear of the LORD." Important phrase.

Second, can you imagine what this nation would be like if all of our judges operated by this one little verse in the Bible?? There would be justice in our country. There would be fear of punishment in the hearts of would-be criminals. I daresay we might even feel safe on our own streets.

But, alas, our judges operate on a system of greed and power-mongering. And personal preferences that basically negate the law and constitution. That, alone, is one reason that I no longer vote for Republicans or Democrats. Neither party is interested in returning our nation to being governed by the Constitution.

I think it would be a good thing to pray that our judges would return to judging by the principle lined out in 2 Chronicles 19:6.


No picture today. I'm thinking about downloading some onto one of those picture sites like buzznet or something. I have some on Sony's Imagestation, but you can't look at them without registering on the website. It's free, but a pain, nevertheless. And I've used about half of my space for pictures on D-land.

I'm also thinking about a redesigned template. I love Spike and Dru, but I've had this one for a long time. I think I need something new. Maybe with guitars or something. I gotta get Rachel to help me. She's the html wiz.

TTFN

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010