index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

John Mayer, Blues Genius (2007-06-28 - 7:56 a.m.)

Rachel and I went to see John Mayer last Friday night at the Smirnoff Center.

You know...the John Mayer who does pop songs like "Your Body Is A Wonderland" and "No Such Thing."

The John Mayer who was recently insane and dating Jessica Simpson (thank God he got over that!).

Let me tell you something.

I think John Mayer has been to the crossroads and made a deal with the devil.

There's no way that boy should be able to play the guitar like that. He's way too young. I knew he could play the blues because we saw him at Eric Clapton's Crossroads Guitar festival in '04. Of course, that knowledge was the reason I was at Smirnoff Center last Friday night to see him. Because, in addition to those smarmy pop songs that he wrote, he can play the fool out of that guitar.

Folks, this may have been one of the best concerts I have ever seen, and it was actually pretty short (he only played for about 75 minutes).

He played intros to his songs that were totally different from the actual songs. What makes his show interesting is that you hear things that you don't hear on the album. And he lengthens the jams on the songs, at least some of them. As one other fan said, he played "Gravity" very, very well.

But the highlight of the show was his cover of a Ray Charles song, "I Don't Need No Doctor." I swear it lasted 10 minutes! And it was (and I'm quoting the local paper's review here) "flawless!" I was almost in tears.

John Mayer is a truly accomplished guitar player who deserves a great amount of respect. I suppose Eric Clapton must have known that somehow, because he invited John to that Festival in '04.

Another cool thing is that he keeps his political views in his songs. He has a couple, such as "Waiting for the World to Change," and "Belief." But he doesn't talk about them. He just sings and plays. As he said, "I don't have much to say, I just talk because I know you want to hear me talk. I've got all these songs, baby!" It's kind of, no, VERY refreshing.

This old man is a big fan of John Mayer. I even kind of like the smarmy pop songs.


Tomorrow is the day.

This is the weekend I have been waiting for my whole life.

Friday morning and 8:30-is, we embark on a vacation to Boston.

Sunday afternoon, around noon, I will take a seat in the right field stands of Fenway Park and watch the Boston Red Sox play baseball.

There are no words to express how this makes me feel.

There will be pictures. I will upload them asap to flickr, probably and link to them from here.

We also have planned excursions for whale-watching, a bus trip up the coast to Kennebunkport, Maine, and a ferry trip to Martha's Vineyard. I said "ferry!" Geez. Oh, and a probable trolley tour of all the historic sites in Boston, such as the Old North Church and the place where the Declaration of Independence was signed.

It should be great fun.

Assuming we can get out of DFW from all the flooding here.

Dang....they got 19 inches of rain in 9 hours southwest of DFW yesterday. It's crazy.

Well...I gotta go. Got stuff to do to get ready for trip.

See y'all in Boston!

TTFN, y'all

2 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010