index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Monster! (2005-05-16 - 6:24 p.m.)

I just finished reading Frank Peretti's new book, Monster, today. There is something about Peretti's writing that grabs me. He's not a tremendously great writer, but I can't seem to put down his books. I finished this one in about four sittings (that's fast for me--I read a lot, but I don't have long periods of time to read).

Frank Peretti, in my opinion, is like Stephen King without all the cussing. His last book (I think), The Oath, was truly a great horror novel. Yet with a Christian theme.

This book really has less of a "Christian" theme (although the characters are occasionally seen praying), and more of an "evolution is a bad theory" theme. I could hardly believe my eyes when I began to realize that this book is about (are you ready for this?) Bigfoot. Yes, I said Bigfoot.

I loved it. I loved every bit of it. There are some good, surprising twists in the plot, and the conclusion was startling. It reminded me a lot of Michael Crichton's last novel, State of Fear, in which the antagonists were cooking up all kinds of "natural" disasters to support their global warming scams.

I won't say any more about the plot of Monster, because it would give away important stuff. It's not heavy-handed in the Christian area, so I think that anyone could enjoy it. Peretti has never beat us over the head with sprituality, although a previous book, The Visitation, was entirely about a "false messiah."

Get this book and read it.

I'm currently still working on The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocolypse by Robert Rankin (the word strange is not really strong enough) and God's Politics by Jim Wallis. The latter of these is surprisingly good. It might not be what you would think by reading the title. More on that when I finish it.

TTFN!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010