index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Dada Dada Dada Dada Dum You Say It's Your Birthday (2005-03-13 - 7:41 a.m.)

It's my birthday today. Kind of awkward, falling on Sunday like this. Sunday is too busy a day for us to have a birthday.

You see, we're churchgoing people. Actually, more than just "churchgoing," we are pretty active Christians. Most everybody that reads this knows that I'm the worship leader at our church. So, in a sense, I work on Sundays. It's part time, so I have to have another job to really help pay the bills, buy the books and cds and Playstation games, etc.

So, our typical Sunday consists of getting up early (6:30 for me), getting to church by 9:30 (hopefully), setting up the stage are and practicing a bit, then getting into the worship service at around 10:40. After church, we get some lunch, go home, and maybe watch an episode of "Angel" or whatever we are watching at the time. Today, we might play a quick game of "Scene-It," the game we bought at Barnes and Nobles yesterday. Then I have to get a little nap, because I have to go to work tonight, since I work graveyard shift at USF Distribution (which, by the way has recently been bought by Yellow Freight--egad!).

Now, where, in there, is any time for a birthday, I ask you? Exactly! So we "celebrated" yesterday. I received the boxed set of the expanded editions of all three Lord of the Rings movies (drooool!!) as well as the boxed set of the Star Wars movies (the original three--the ones that were any good) from my beautiful wife. I received the Sims 2 University expansion pack from Rachel, and a Looney Tunes Back in Action PS2 game from Stephanie. I think she picked that out herself. I look forward to playing it.

Then we went to Barnes and Nobles and spent another couple hundred bucks on books and that Scene-It game. I can't even begin to list the books I got right now, but one of them was a collection of what it says are the best time travel stories of the 20th century. Edited by Harry Turtledove. Should be interesting. I also bought the second and third novels by Christopher Moore, who is one of the funniest authors I have ever read. I recently finished his book, The Stupidest Angel: A heartwarming tale of Christmas terror, and laughed out loud on almost every page of this book. The man is insane.

Anyway, all in all...oops! To finish the day, we went to my mother-in-law's house for some great cooking by her husband, Don. We had smothered steak, mashed taters, some really good green beans, corn, and chocolate cake with ice cream. They game me a really nice shirt combination. Polo, no less. My mother-in-law never scrimps when it comes to clothes.

So, as I was saying before I interrupted myself...all in all it was a great day, spent with people whom I love dearly. That helps a man when he's starting to feel like he's getting old.

Oh, yeah. For anyone who cares, I am now 47.

TTFN

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010