index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Why Do I Have to Live in Texas??? (2005-06-27 - 12:52 p.m.)

First entry in a long time. Who knows why?

Anyway, we are back from the beautiful state of California. We spent a wonderful week in northern California, looking at the ocean and the redwoods. We drove up and down CA Hwy 1 every day of our trip. That, my friends, was a trip, indeed. It is the twistiest highway I have ever been on, and many places your car is six inches away from certain death!

Weather was gorgeous the whole time. I don't think it ever got above 70 degrees.

I'm going to post some pictures from our week. Maybe just one at a time, so I can have something to post every day.

Here's the first one. This is the view from the deck at the first house we rented, in a community called "Irish Beach." It was about halfway between Manchester and Elk. The next town after Elk is Mendocino. Most people have heard of that one. Anyway, here's the pictures.

While we were on vacation, I finished some books. First, I finished Basket Case by Carl Hiaasen. I had never heard of this guy until he was mentioned in one of my favorite cartoon strips, Frazz. Anyway, this book was quite good, and pretty funny.

Second, I finished Bloodsucking Fiends, by Cristopher Moore. This is the third book of his that I have read, and he is downright hilarious. This book was great. All about vampires, in case you can't tell.

Then, on Saturday, I finished a devotional book called Life As A Vapor, by John Piper. I think Piper is my favorite non-fiction writer. This little book pretty much fits the title. He focuses on how brief our time on earth is, and what purposes we should give our time to.

Now, I'm back to the Dark Tower, beginning my second reading of volume 5, Wolves of the Calla. Written by Stephen King, in case you just got out from under a rock or something.

That's all for today, I must go get some sleep!

TTFN

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010