index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Two coins (2003-11-23 - 8:42 a.m.)

Hopefully, today will be a good day. We are having our Thanksgiving service this morning, followed by lunch at church, and then we will all go out and distribute Thanksgiving meal components to families in the community. Should be fun.

The morning is starting out ok, as well. Kids are getting up and seeming to be in a good mood.

�The thing of which we have to beware is not so much damage to our belief in God as damage to our Christian temper.� What does Chambers mean by that? I think I understand, because my belief in God has never been damaged very much at all, but I know that other parts of my faith have been. �It is the enemy that penetrates right into the soul and distracts the mind from God.�

�Beware of �the cares of the world,� because they are the things that produce a wrong temper of soul.�

�Another thing that distracts us is the lust of vindication. Our Lord never explained anything; He left mistakes to correct themselves. When we discern that people are not going on spiritually and allow the discernment to turn to criticism, we block our way to God. God never gives us discernment in order that we may criticize, but that we may intercede.� That is something that I really need to work on. I am constantly criticizing other people because I don�t think they have �advanced� enough, or something like that. That is none of my business. It is up to God to see that they advance, spiritually. How do I know how far they are supposed to be? I don�t even know how far I am supposed to be!

The reading for Closer Walk today is about the widow who gave the two small coins, being all that she had to live on. A.W. Tozer says this, �No one gives at all until he has given all! No one gives anything acceptable to God until he has first given himself in love and sacrifice.� God does not need our gifts. He owns the cattle on a thousand hills. He is more concerned about the attitude behind our giving than the amount, itself. �The millionaire who groans while giving a thousand dollars has actually accomplished less than the widow who is thankful to give two cents.�

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010