index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

The Village (2004-07-31 - 9:12 p.m.)

If you haven't already read Rachel's assessment of this movie, well, here's mine, and it pretty much agrees with hers.

The Village is a stupid, stupid movie. Thank you very much, M. Night Shyamalan (yes, Rachel, you spelled it right) for wasting a good part of my evening along with about 13 bucks.

All of the build up over this movie...Sheesh, and his secrecy about it. Small wonder. He didn't want anyone to know how LAME it was before they went to see it.

Like Rachel, I loved Signs. I even liked The Sixth Sense. I thoroughly enjoyed both movies. And I like how Mr. Shyamalan makes his movies family fare. That much I appreciate. No sex at all. Very little cursing (in Signs, it was even humorous cursing). I don't remember any in The Village.

But this movie was b-o-r-i-n-g! With a capital B.

Along with Rachel, I also liked the performance of the young lady who played Ivy Walker. She had the best part in the movie by far. Close behind her was the part of her sister, Kitty. They were the best. I'm not as fond of Adrien Brody, and thought that Mr. Phoenix's part was a little better than Rachel did.

However, Sigourney Weaver's part was not well written. I don't blame the actors/actresses. They did the best they could with what they had to work with.

There is a very clever twist at the end. I'll give them that. It was totally unexpected, and I won't spoil it for anyone out of courtesy. Because this spoiler would really spoil the entire movie for any potential attendees. M. Night does make the obligatory cameo appearance. I spotted him right away. Ok, maybe not RIGHT away. But within a few seconds.

I forget what system I use to rate movies. Do I use 5 stars? Well, if I did, this one might get 2. Maybe I might even be generous and give it 3. But definitely no more than that. Only three because I really liked Ivy and Kitty.


Off to bed with me!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010