index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Ambition and intimacy (2003-03-21 - 2:11 p.m.)

Well, well, well! I can enter a journal today! I'm so far behind, I don't remember when my last one was. Of course, I can always go back and read it...

I have let several things keep me away from my devotional times this week. I hate when that happens. I feel like I am so distant from God right now. And I know that He hasn't moved.

Here is a key thing concerning where we get off base so often. "It is arduous work to keep the master ambition in front. It means holding one's self to the high ideal year in and year out, not being ambitious to win souls or to establish churches or to have revivals, but being ambitious only to be 'accepted of Him.'"[2 Corinthians 5:9]--Oswald Chambers "My worth to God in public is what I am in private. Is my master ambition to please Him and be acceptable to Him, or is it something less, no matter how noble?"

On another day, he says this about intimacy with God: "To be so much in contact with God that you never need to ask Him to show you His will, is to be nearing the final stage of your discipline in the life of faith. When you are rightly related to God, it is a life of freedom and liberty and delight, you are God's will, and all your common-sense decisions are His will for you unless He checks." Now that is where I want to be! But I have so much garbage to be cleaned out first! Father, clean me up. Clean me out. Not just an outward cleansing of sin. That is easy. I take care of that every day. What I need is deep, inward cleaning. Open my head and dust my brain off; vaccuum it out.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010