index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Sorrow, difficulty, and adoration (2003-06-25 - 5:18 p.m.)

It seems like it's been forever since I have made any kind of "spiritual" entry. And I'm not feeling very close to Father right now, either. Summer always has a negative effect on my spiritual life, though. The schedule gets all out of sync, because I don't have to get up at a certain time in the afternoon...I can sleep until whenever. (For any who don't know, I work the vampire shift.) Heehee..."vampire shift." I just thought of that, too. Stephanie has been in summer school from 8 until 11:30 each morning, which has further weirded out my schedule. Some days I take her, then sleep for a couple of hours, get up, go get her, sleep some more. Some days, I just stay up and waste time doing things like Playstation games, movies, Buffy episodes *ducks Rachel's slapping motions* *Ouch!! Didn't duck fast enough* etc. Or, like today, I sequenced "Not To Us" for this Sunday's worship service. Very frustrating, this was. My XP-50 was malfunctioning for a while, and the crash cymbal wouldn't work right. I wanted to toss the sodding thing right out the window! But, being that that wouldn't be very "cost-effective," I refrained. And, using the old computer trick, "when all else fails, re-boot," I got it to work right and finished the song. Only to be told by above mentioned daughter that "gosh, there sure are a lot of drums in the bridge." Hmphhh! Think I'll read Oswald Chambers, now.

"My attitude as a saint to sorrow and difficulty is not to ask that they may be prevented, but to ask that I may preserve the self God created me to be through every fire of sorrow. Our Lord received Himself in the fire of sorrow, He was saved not from the hour, but out of the hour." "If you receive yourself in the fires of sorrow, God will make you nourishment for other people."

In Up With Worship, Anne Orlund gives some helpful hints on adoration. Many of us don't really take the time to adore the Father. We think that by offering up thanksgiving, that we are worshipping Him, but true worship is all about God! Thanksgiving, by its very nature, is partly about us. Adoration is all about telling God what, or who, He is. Mrs. Ortlund even goes so far as to do the old alphabet trick. Just begin telling God, "You are..." and begin with A, B, C, and so on. Sounds silly, I know. But think about it. It could work, and it could do wonders for your personal worship time.

Well, I have a worship service to prepare.

TTFN

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010