index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Vampires vs Christianity (2003-06-21 - 10:19 a.m.)

First of all, I want to thank Rachel for fixing my new diary page for me. She is really becoming quite the "html queen." *pride gushing out all over*

Something occurred to me as I was perusing the new format. I realize that y'all will think I've just lost my proverbial marbles, but here it is...and perhaps it explains why I have loved the vampire mythology for most of my life.

There is an amazing parallel between the vampire mythology and Christianity. *WHAT??* You heard me. Here goes. A vampire sucks your blood out, until you are almost dead. Granted this isn't always voluntary, so bear with me. There is no such thing as a perfect analogy. Ok...vampire sucks blood. We give our lives to Christ, in effect "dying" to our old ways and ourselves. Vampire then lets you drink his blood (if, that is, he wants to "sire" you). Christ gives His life back to us. We "eat and drink" of His "flesh and blood," thereby gaining our immortality. Vampire will live forever, providing someone doesn't stick pointy wooden objects in his chest (or close proximity in some BtVS cases...), drag him out into the sunlight (ala John Carpenter's Vampires), or throw holy water on him, or as in BtVS episode "Helpless," trick him into drinking holy water. Heehee...that was really cool. Ahem. Sorry. Anyway, barring any of these events, a vampire will live forever, not unlike Santa Claus. Oops, sorry, that's a whole 'nother discussion. Christians will enjoy eternal life. The difference is, nothing can take it away from us. No pointy objects, sunlight, or holy water. Interestingly, the crux of both ideas is the blood. It really makes me wonder where the whole vampire mythos came from. I must research that a little more (which would be any at all since I have done no research on that topic). It's all about the blood. It's the blood of Christ that cleanses us and sets us free. Oh, yeah, forgot. After being "sired," you come back to life as a vampire. After being "saved," we have figuratively died and been reborn as a Christian. The event of baptism depicts that process. We are "buried with Him in baptism and raised to newness of life."

So there it is. I may have missed something in there, but there it is. I will always be fascinated by vampires, much to the chagrin of many of my peers who think that anything of that nature is satanic and must be avoided at all costs. Of course, these are the same people who think Harry Potter is the antichrist. I guess they really aren't "peers" at all, are they?

One more thing...It turns out that I am, in fact, Harry Potter. Thanks to yet another useless personality quiz...

Which Fantasy/SciFi Character Are You?

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010