index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Service and Holiness (2004-02-25 - 5:05 p.m.)

Tonight is Praise Team practice, as well as an �all new Angel� episode, in which something really bad happens to Fred, and I don�t really want to think about that right now. Anyway, I have to hurry and get ready for practice.

Part of the �getting ready� is spiritual preparation. That�s why, on Wednesday as well as Sunday, when I say I�m �getting ready,� I�m usually doing some devotional reading or Bible study of some type.

True service to God does not care whether love is returned or not. Natural love expects something in return. We serve Christ by serving other men, expecting nothing in return. Hey, it�s that �doormat� concept again. I think God may be trying to tell me something. If I would just listen�

Jesus said that in His kingdom, the greatest would be servant of all. �The real test of the saint is not preaching the gospel, but washing disciples� feet, that is, doing the things that do not count in the actual estimate of men but count everything in the estimate of God.�


At the beginning of the Daily Bible reading for today is a strong command by the Lord. �You shall be holy, for I the LORD your God am holy.� (Leviticus 19:2) In this same chapter, it is also forbidden to seek out the advice of mediums and familiar spirits. Fortune telling was basically forbidden by God. Reading on in chapter 20, adultery is punishable by death. Boy, have we forgotten that one!

Psalm 27:4��One thing I have desired of Yahweh, that will I seek: That I may dwell in the house of Yahweh all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of Yahweh, and to inquire in His temple.� Yes. That is my desire, too.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010