index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

A New Year's Diet Report (January 09, 2008 - 12:13 a.m.)

The New Year's diet is progressing well. I've lost about 8 pounds since last Tuesday. That's pretty good for the first week.
We're not doing anything special, like Weight Watchers. I'll always back WW as a great program. It really does work. However, it's pretty expensive. If all three of us went, it would cost over $100 a month. Plus their snacks and stuff that you can buy at the meetings is outrageously expensive.
So we signed on to this site. It works a lot like WW's online tools, and is only $30 for a whole year. There is actually a free level where you basically just track weight. But for the paid level, you can track all the food you eat, your water, your activity (I'm still not sure what that word means...), and plan meals, set goals, etc. Pretty cool.
So basically we are just eating better. I've been cooking more at home (especially since I got that extra-way-cool set of Emeril cookware that rocks!!). Last night, I made some chili-mac for dinner. Made it with extra lean ground beef, so it was low-fat. It was quite good.
I think tonight, I'll make "chops in a crock pot," a recipe that I got from my old WW leader. Mostly uses pork chops and cream of chicken soup. It's amazing what you can do with cream of chicken soup and cream of mushroom soup in a crock pot. One recipe I tried uses both on top of chicken. Yum!
Crock pots are wonderful.




Rachel's classes started Monday, and it sounds like she is really going to enjoy them this year. I'm kind of jealous, actually. She's getting to read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep for one class, the story by Philip K. Dick that became the inspiration for "Blade Runner." And for another class, they get to read a Dave Barry book. Hah! No fair. If you don't know who Dave Barry is, look him up and read some columns. You'll laugh so much, your side will ache, your heart will go pitter-pat...
Oops. Sorry about that...(a gold star to the first person who can tell me what THAT was from...)
Anyway, I NEVER got to read anything that fun in college. Pft.


In Stephie-world...things are not great. She made it through school Monday, complaining of a sore throat. Yesterday morning, she went to school quite willingly, but then told me her ear was hurting on the way. At 10am, I got a call from the school nurse. Bleh. So, I wound up going and getting her. I should have known...
The thing is, I don't know if she's really sick or just doesn't want to go to school. She's already made up her mind that she won't feel like going this morning. I'll probably wind up taking her to the doctor. She doesn't have fever, though.
This brings to mind a pet peeve of mine. This whole school nurse thing. I have begun to really wonder why on earth we are wasting tax dollars paying a school nurse. They can't DO anything!! They can't even give our kids a Tylenol or Advil pill. Anything they can do certainly doesn't require any kind of nursing certification. A bloody teacher's aid could stick a thermometer in a kid's mouth! It's just a tremendous waste.


Well, break's pretty much over, so it's back to work for me.

Congrats to Goose Gossage for getting into the Baseball Hall of Fame. Sadly, Jim Rice, ex-Boston Red Sox player, did not make it in. I think he has one more chance.

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010