index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

Black (2004-05-23 - 8:31 p.m.)

I just remembered that I forgot to lament over Angel being over.

Lament.

Ok. That's enough.

Seriously, I am in denial about the "Buffyverse" actually being over. But I will be able to get fresh fixes in the form of Season Six DVDs coming out this Tuesday. I will be at Target bright and early (well, early, anyway) to pick up our copy. I think there may be a few episodes of Season Six that I still haven't seen.

I am sad about the end. I will miss all of them, just as I have missed Willow, Xander and Anya for the past season. It doesn't seem fair that boneheaded shows like The O.C. and One Tree Hill and horribly written shows like Tru Calling will remain on the air while our beloved Angel must go by the wayside.


Finished a book today called Black, written by Ted Dekker. This is the first book of his that I have read. I liked it and plan to read more.

This is the first of a trilogy, subtitled, "The Birth of Evil." Dekker is a Christian writer, and one of his previous novels is called Thr3e. I haven't read it, yet, but have a copy here in the house, somewhere. I checked out Black from the library.

By the way, for you kiddies who haven't figured this out, yet, the library is a wonderful, free source of reading materials. Emphasis on the word FREE!

I recommend Black for all readers. It is a thrilling story that manages to be so with nary a bad word in the story. Hmm...what a rarity these days.

The story relates the adventures of one Thomas Hunter, who wakes up in some strange world, in a black forest. He manages to make it across the river into the colored forest, where he is taken care of by a different type of people. He is healed by a woman named Rachelle, simply by pouring water from their lake on him.

The thing is, every time he falls asleep in that world, he wakes up in ours, where it is the year 2010, and a virus is about to be unleashed on the planet by some "evil-doer" that could kill over 90% of the population unless the world governments give this guy what he wants. He has the only antivirus.

It gets a little confusing at times, and even a little hoaky now and then, but over all, it was very entertaining.

A good read.

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010