index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

The Fear of the LORD (2006-01-02 - 9:28 a.m.)

I can't remember.

I may have said this last year on the same day.

But it can't be said enough.

"The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction." Proverbs 1:7

This verse sums up the whole book of Proverbs, and may even give us a capsule of the reason we even have the Bible. There are other reasons, of course, but this says it very nicely. "The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge."

So what can you do to improve yourself in 2006. Fear God. That's the beginning.


Here's a good quote from John Calvin. "We shall find angels and men to be dry, heaven to be empty, the earth to be unproductive, and, in short, all things to be of no value if we wish to be partakers of the gifts of God in any other way than through Christ." Jesus Christ is the only way to God.


Yesterday, after church, we went to Trader's Village, a local "flea market." I don't understand that name. I never saw any fleas. There were dogs, though. Maybe they had fleas?

But I digress...it was good fun. We walked around feeling very "white," but looking at lots of interesting things, and many more not-so-interesting things (I saw more socks than I have ever seen in my life). We even saw a line of steering columns standing around a van on the lot. Kind of made me want to run back and make sure we still had ours.

Rachel, Stephanie, and I found some used cds for five bucks each and I got (gasp) some socks. Oh, yeah. Rachel bought a halberd. I'll post a picture of it in a day or two so you can see what a halberd is. It's sort of a "spear-ish" kind of medieval looking thingy.

After that, we came home, stopping at Sonic for a drink. We all just kind of crashed, Christi on the love seat with her puzzle book, I here at the computer, Rachel at hers, and Stephanie at hers. I created a new Tauren Druid named Watami so that I can go to Nokora's wedding in Moonglade on Friday night. If you don't get it, don't ask. You wouldn't understand.

TTFN

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010