index
archives
profile
rings
booklist
reviews
about
links
notes
email
View my guestbook
dland
RP Designs
Rachelskirts


free hit counter

What Do I Believe? (2007-01-03 - 6:26 p.m.)

Happy January 3rd.

Look! I'm on a roll. I've written three days in a row!

Today, in my New Testament reading, I read the passage in Matthew where Jesus was baptized by John the Baptist. These two verses really grabbed my attention today.

And when Jesus was baptized, immediately he went up from the water, and behold, the heavens were opened to him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and coming to rest on him; and behold, a voice from heaven said, "This is my beloved son, with whom I am well pleased."

This is a beautiful picture to me. And it's a representation of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit all in one place together.

Point is, if God the Father is "well pleased" with Jesus the Son, we would do well to follow him a little more closely.

One of my D-land buddies, who's diary is password protected, so I won't bother to link it here, wrote something very challenging today. She wrote, "I've heard a quote from an atheist who said that if Christians really believe what we say we do, we must be crazy or we'd be shouting it to everyone who'd listen." That knocked the wind out of me.

We have the most glorious treasure that ever existed, and a lot of us, self included, keep it locked away where no one can see it. I'm going to find a way to make 2007 different. I've got to. I think my spiritual life depends on it.

TTFN, y'all!

0 comments so far

last ~ next

Missed anything?
The Beatles--Abbey Road/Alice Cooper--Killer - July 04, 2012
The Beatles Eponymous Album - June 26, 2012
Autism's False Prophets - February 12, 2011
Santana--Guitar God? - November 11, 2010
Tribute To the Red Sox - September 29, 2010